• 05
  • 6
  • 7
THE NEXT 7 DAYS:     EVENTS (18)     +     OPENINGS (8)     +     DEADLINES (5)     +     CLOSINGS (13)
copyright ©2019

email EMAIL this page to a friend:


Akimbo is proud to support the following Awards

The Let's Talk About Me for a Minute Award

Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning
and University of Toronto Mississauga, Art and Art History Program, Oakville and Mississauga, Ontario

Each Fall since 2005, Akimbo has awarded the "Let's Talk About Me for a Minute" award to an outstanding student in the 4th-year Professional Practices class in the Art and Art History Program. The winner receives either free Akimbo services or an Akimbo workshop in artist self-promotion.

Below is Professor Lise Beaudry presenting the 2018 Akimbo “Let’s Talk About Me for a Minute” Award for Excellence in Professional Practice to Art and Art History graduate Kamryn Mcfarlane.


Below is Professor Lise Beaudry presenting the 2017 Akimbo “Let’s Talk About Me for a Minute” Award for Excellence in Professional Practice to Art and Art History graduate Michaela Lucio.

2017 winner

Below is 2016 Award Winner Matthew Morales with faculty member John Armstrong.



Below is 2015 Award Winner Jordyn Stewart with Associate Dean Michael Rubinoff. Jordyn Stewart is an emerging artist from the Niagara Region. Coming from a small town, she adopts child-like fascinations and curiosities from her upbringing. Now, immersed in developing urban environments she investigates the materials found within these spaces in search for the familiar. Working predominantly in video and performance she creates site-sensitive performances. Stewart recently received her BA, Specialist in Art and Art History at University of Toronto, joint program with Sheridan College. She has most recently exhibited works at Trinity Square Video, Video Fever 2015, as well as, The Blackwood Gallery, Horizon Line.


Below is 2014 Award Winner Sam Abel installing her performative Birthmark crochet on the arm of Sam Hanrath.

Photo credit: John Armstrong


The Akimbo Marian McMahon Award
The Images Festival, Toronto

Sponsored by Akimbo, The Akimbo Marian McMahon Award is given each Spring to a woman filmmaker to honour strong work in autobiography, the complexity of "subject" and the spirit of Marian McMahon. The recipient is invited to attend the Independent Imaging filmmaking retreat, also known as the Film Farm, held each June in Mount Forest, Ontario facilitated by Philip Hoffman. The winner receives a cash award toward tuition and expenses at the Independent Imaging filmmaking retreat.

* * * 

The 2018 winner is Colectivo Los Ingravidos, Mexico. The jury citation: For its poetic reflection upon the material specificity of photochemical film, and its active involvement with contemporary struggle, the Marian McMahon Akimbo Award goes to Collectivo Los Ingravidos for Sangre Seca.



* * *

The 2017 winner is Anonymous for her strong work in autobiography and complexity of "subject" with the Marian McMahon Akimbo Award for her short Untitled

The Images jury citation reads: #fuckthepatriarchy


Photo: Sardar Farrokhi 

* * *

The 2016 winner is Lisa Truttmann for her film 6500. Lisa is a media artist working in video, film, photography and installation. She studied Transmedia Arts at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna and attended the Graduate Program in Film and Video at the California Institute of the Arts. Based in Vienna, Truttmann's projects have been shown internationally in exhibitions, festivals and screenings since 2005.

The Images jury citation reads: “The jury awards Lisa Truttmann for 6500, for her mastery in exploring the intersection of moving image, language, colour and thought.”

Lisa Truttmann comments: “I returned from Toronto and the Images Festival inspired and stimulated by the lively city, the diverse community and the multifaceted festival program. During my short stay I was introduced to many different local art venues, met and connected with peers from Canada and elsewhere, and found myself part of a friendly festival crowd. I’m thankful for the opportunity to show my work 6500 to a wider audience within this context, and being able to exchange thoughts and receive feedback. I quickly realised that this would be a place I’d love to return as soon as possible.

I was honoured and thrilled by the big news of being recognized by the Images Festival awards. The support and affirmation will help me greatly in continuing my work on current and upcoming projects. Participating at Film Farm in Mount Forest is an exciting chance to not only return to work with the materiality of film, but also to come back to Canada so much quicker than expected. I would like to sincerely thank the festival team, the curators, and the sponsors.”


Lisa Truttman. Photo credit: Nora Sweeney

* * *

The 2015 winner is Heidi Phillips of Winnipeg for her film Thunderbolt. Heidi Phillips will receive a cash award toward tuition and expenses at the Independent Imaging filmmaking retreat. 

Heidi Phillips is an experimental filmmaker and installation artist from Manitoba, Canada with an affinity for the tactility of the filmic medium. Phillips’ often uses thrifted super 8 films, contact printing and darkroom experiments to push her work into new places. Phillips’ old school process frequently becomes part of the content, as grainy scratched films are merged with images lifted from found footage to create mesmerizing, transcendent works.


Heidi Phillips

Sagan MacIsaac of Akimbo (3rd from left) was there in 2015 to announce the award.

* * *

The 2014 award recipient is Brigid McCaffrey for her film Paradise Springs. A delicately constructed portrait of one woman's intimate connection with the rhythm of the desert, Paradise Springs is an exploration of the fragility of humanity, and its interdependence with nature.

Brigid McCaffrey is a Los Angeles-based documentary and experimental filmmaker working in film and video. Her films have screened at various venues including the Rotterdam International Film Festival, DocLisboa, Torino International Film Festival, Cinema du Reel, Images Festival, and Other Cinema. Her film Castaic Lake was awarded Best Cinematography at the Ann Arbor Film Festival in 2011. She received an MFA in Film and Video from CalArts in 2009 and has taught at the California State Summer School for the Arts, Venice Arts, and the University of California, San Diego.


Brigid McCaffrey

* * *

2013 winner Jodie Mack (Hanover, New Hampshire) for her film + performance Dusty Stacks of Mom: The Poster Project.  


Jodie Mack

* * *

Akimbo Director Kim Fullerton presenting the 2012 Marian McMahon Award.

Film Farm facilities

Outdoor screening at the Film Farm