• 05
  • 6
  • 7
THE NEXT 7 DAYS:     EVENTS (19)     +     OPENINGS (13)     +     DEADLINES (7)     +     CLOSINGS (13)
copyright ©2018

back [+]


Announcing The Grange Prize 2012 Partner Country and Nominating Jury

The Art Gallery of Ontario and Aeroplan will collaborate with the United Kingdom for The Grange Prize 2012. The Prize will bring together artists and curators from both countries to form the nominating jury, who will each bring forth a selection of artists from their home country for consideration.

Four contemporary photographic artists, two each from Canada and the United Kingdom, will be selected by the jury to enter the running to win Canada's largest cash award for photography and the only major Canadian art prize whose winner is chosen by the public. In addition to the $50,000 awarded to the winner, the three remaining shortlisted artists receive an international residency and $5,000 each toward the creation of new work, bringing the total amount of cash granted to photographic artists to $65,000.

This year's jurors are:

  • Sophie Hackett, assistant curator of photography at the AGO; her recent curatorial projects include Barbara Kruger: Untitled (It) (2010) on the AGO's façade; "Where I was born...": A Photograph, a Clue and the Discovery of Abel Boulineau (2011); Songs of the Future: Canadian Industrial Photographs, 1858 to Today (2011-2012); and Max Dean: Album (2012), a public project with family photo albums, for the 2012 Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival.

  • Sara Knelman, a writer and curator based in London, U.K.; she is also a PhD candidate at the Courtauld Institute of Art, where she researches photographic exhibition in mainstream art institutions in recent decades. Between 2006 and 2009, she was curator of contemporary art at the Art Gallery of Hamilton.

  • Adam Broomberg and Oliver Chanarin, a U.K.-based artist duo whose work has been the subject of solo exhibitions at The Photographers' Gallery and the National Portrait Gallery in London, among other prominent international institutions. They are the recipients of the Vic Odden Award from the Royal Photographic Society, and are trustees of the Photographers' Gallery and Photoworks.

  • Charlotte Cotton, a curator and writer who has held the positions of curator and department head of photography at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, curator of photographs at London's Victoria and Albert Museum, and head of programming at The Photographers' Gallery in London. She is the author and editor of several books, including Then Things Went Quiet (2003), Guy Bourdin (2003) and The Photograph as Contemporary Art (2004).

"The AGO strives to create opportunities for the public to engage with art in meaningful ways. The Grange Prize gives our visitors, members and the international public a chance to participate in a dialogue about contemporary photography, and have a stake in the process," said Matthew Teitelbaum, the AGO's Director, and CEO. "The U.K. is well-known for its renowned photographers and holds a reputation as a global centre for contemporary art. We're pleased to partner with Aeroplan for a fifth year to foster this essential cultural exchange and showcase the work of four fine artists."

"We are pleased to work with the AGO again on The Grange Prize and to help promote contemporary photography in Canada and around the world," said Vince Timpano, President and CEO, Canada, Aimia(Aeroplan's parent company). "We look forward to celebrating the works of talented Canadian and British artists and we encourage the public to participate and vote for their favourite photographer."

The Grange Prize 2012 shortlist will be announced and online public voting will commence on Aug. 21, 2012. The AGO's exhibition of work by the shortlisted artists opens Sept. 5, 2012 with a public launch party that evening. Throughout the course of the exhibition, AGO visitors will also have the opportunity to vote in person at the Gallery. The winner will be announced at a gala reception at the AGO in November.

The Grange Prize, now in its fifth year, was awarded to Indian photographer Gauri Gill in 2011; Canadian artist Kristan Horton in 2010, when the partner country was the U.S.; Mexican photographer Marco Antonio Cruz in 2009; and Winnipeg-based artist Sarah Anne Johnson in 2008, when the partner country was China.

Updates, blog postings, and more information about The Grange Prize can be found at

Contemporary programming at the AGO is generously supported by the Canada Council for the Arts.

The AGO acknowledges the generous support of its Signature Partners: American Express, Signature Partner of the Conservation Program; and Aeroplan, Signature Partner of the Photography Collection Program.

Aeroplan is a long-standing patron of the arts, with a history of supporting artists and arts initiatives across Canada. For more information, please visit: or

Aeroplan is a registered trademark of Aeroplan Canada Inc.